A New Year Knit-A-Long

Happy New Year everyone and I hope you had a lovely Christmas. I had a wonderful two and a bit weeks off, eating and drinking and relaxing and eating and drinking some more. I spent some lovely evenings with my family and with my friends and I slept, a lot. It was wonderful.

Just before heading back to work there was some chatter on Twitter about a new mystery knit-a-long (KAL) run by Ysolda Teague. I really enjoyed last year’s Colour Affection KAL, it was fun to be working on the same project as my knitter friends, but I’m sceptical of mystery KALs. What if I don’t like the pattern? But the twist to this one is that for each of the five clues there are two options, making 32 different options, so I’m sure I’ll knit a shawl I’m happy with. And I know Ysolda’s patterns are really well written. So I gave into (the nice kind of) peer pressure and signed up for the KAL.

followyourarrow_square_medium2So with the pattern purchased it was time to turn to yarn options. The pattern requires 622m of fingering weight yarn, which means two skeins of most yarns. I bought some delicious Coolree merino/silk at the Knitting and Stitching show in a colour called Baltic. It’s a divine blue green depending on what light you look at it in, but there was no more of this colour on the Coolree website. So I headed into  This Is Knit today to look at some options.

HokusaiI ended up picking up some more Coolree merino/silk in a colour called Hokusai’s Wave, which I already had a skein of at home having ripped out my Renita shawl. But when I got home I realised that it’s actually the same as the Baltic rather than my other skein of Hokusai’s Wave, which I bought over a year ago now. So yay! I’m delighted because it really has the most amazing teals as well as blues in the yarn, it’s really beautiful. I won’t be at home in the daylight again until Saturday (goddamn you January) so the photo above is from the Coolree website. Even this photo doesn’t show off the beautiful teal-y blues of the yarn.

I’m really looking forward to casting on next Monday and I’ll try to keep my blog updated with my progress. Is anyone else joining the KAL? What yarn have you chosen?

11 thoughts on “A New Year Knit-A-Long

  1. Happy New Year! I did think about joining this KAL because it seemed so intriguing, but I desperately need to go cold sheep this year on buying new yarn :).

  2. I’m doing this KAL :) I haven’t chosen my yarn yet, still not sure whether to stick to one colour or go for two contrasting ones. The colour you chose is really gorgeous though, I think a shawl will look really beautiful in that!

  3. Well, if I can find 2 appropriate skeins in stash, I’ll do it…(I put my stash on Rav over the break because that’s what lecturers do during break. They organize things).

    • It turns out that’s what librarians do too ;-) My stash is organised and photographed on Ravelry now. We must meet up again before you start back into crazy semester time. I’ll email tomorrow.

  4. I’m in and so are about a thousand other people. I have no idea what yarn I’ll be using but it will definitely be from my stash.
    lmecoll on Ravelry

Let me know what you think

