Doggy Day Out

Anyone who knows me knows I am passionate about animals and animal welfare. I started volunteering at the Dublin SPCA about a year and a half ago and it has enriched my life in so many ways (more on that in a later post). So this seems a fitting topic for my inaugural post.

The DSPCA are hosting their annual Doggy Day Out at Marlay Park next Saturday, September 17th from 12 – 4pm. It’s always a great day out for the pooches, with discounted Microchipping, training sessions, face painting and games, photo sessions with Michelle Griffin of Square Portraits. Michelle has taken photos of my dogs (Ollie and Mia, I’m sure you’ll get to know them soon) and is an amazing photographer.

The pièce de résistance, for me anyway, will be Scrufts, the all-inclusive dog competition. I’ll be entering Ollie and Mia, who we adopted through Dogs in Distress. I think it’s important for people to realise that rescue dogs come in all shapes and sizes and not all are mongrels either.

The whole event is designed to raise awareness as well as to raise much needed funds. I volunteer at reception once a week and it is truly heartbreaking the number of animals that come through the door. (Having said that these are the lucky ones and the DSPCA is generally a happy place. All the staff and volunteers have only one thing in mind: helping animals.)

So come along on Saturday and bring the family (canine and human). It should be great fun. Weather permitting of course.

(All images used with kind permission of the Dublin SPCA.)

 

7 thoughts on “Doggy Day Out

  1. Welcome, Jen! I doubt I’m alone in saying that I’d love to hear more about your work at the DSPCA here :).

    This sounds like a great event and I hope ye will have a great attendance for it.

  2. As others have said, it sounds like a great day out. Best of luck with the new blog. I hope you find it rewarding/ fulfilling. Looking forward to dropping by again.

  3. Welcome to the world of blogging! Hope you enjoy it. I for one am looking forward to seeing your crafty endeavors and seeing more pictures of your incredibly cute dogs!

Let me know what you think

