DIY: Tied up with string

I’m getting married to the love of my life next April and I am very excited to be planning our wedding. I’m hoping to make and do as much of the decorations and extra touches myself for three reasons. First I feel it makes it very personal, second simply because I want to. A distant third, for me anyway, is saving money, although this is undoubtedly a nice bonus.

I spotted these table numbers propped up by corks on Pinterest, and immediately fell in love with the rustic feel of the corks and twine. Aren’t they fab? They were originally posted on the website of a Melbourne Wedding Planner and Event Manager, A Lavish Affair.

As a DIY bride I couldn’t resist giving these a go myself.

I used:

  • Glue & scissors
  • String
  • Wine corks (I have a collection of these just waiting for a project to come along, a huge thanks also to Elana and UnderMeOxter for donating wine corks)

The first thing to do is sort the corks into sets of 6, you’re looking for corks of similar height and shape.

The next step is to glue the corks together. You only want to put the glue on the bottom half of the corks so that the paper can still slip between them. I found that gluing them in pairs, and then gluing the pairs together worked best.

Finally, wrap the string around the corks around three times and tie in a bow. When you are happy with the placement of the string and I would suggest adding a few more drops of glue to hold everything in place. You’re now ready to pop your card into place.

I also spotted these really cute table decorations on Pinterest  – 5 things his side should know about her/ 5 things her side should know about him. The originals come from Etsy shop La Belle Vie Design. Jenn from La Belle Vie has loads of super cute, customisable stationary for weddings and some really unique ideas. I’m going to have to tie Rossa down to persuade him to write 5 things about me, but I think it will be a really personal touch, especially for those guests that don’t know one of us very well.

7 thoughts on “DIY: Tied up with string

  1. These are really lovely. I particularly like the Five things idea. Our wedding had lots of vintage element and I saw and fell in love with vintage Bingo cards on etsy. I used them as table numbers giving each table a completely random number (this also helped us wiht a v awkward table plan) and my brother and his wife took photos of numbers they needed for a couple of months before the wedding, like bus numbers, house numbers, km distances etc and used them on their tables. They were both lovely individual touches on the day. Here’s a picture of ours http://www.flickr.com/photos/colmmacc/3687149410/

    Keep us updated as regards your DIY lovely stuff.

    • Oh I LOVE that idea. We’re thinking of having either number/ages or years as our table numbers and then a photo of each of us at that age/year. I’m having so much fun coming up with these little ideas (most of them thanks to Pinterest) and will definitely keep blogging them.

Let me know what you think

