FO: Genna cowl

Rossa and I took a sneaky trip to Antwerp back in May. We we’re actually going to get my engagement ring, but didn’t tell anyone. Antwerp is a lovey city, not as pretty as, say, Bruges, but nicer than Brussels. (We’ve been to both, Rossa is a total beer nerd so I could take about all the pubs we visited and beer we drank but I won’t.)

While we were there the Mode Museum were holding an exhibition called Unravel: Knitwear in Fashion. It was a really good exhibition and I even managed to take a few snaps. It was great I have to say to be able to indulge my hobby while there, as sometimes I feel like our trips are hijacked by the pubs we *have* to go to and beer we *have* to try. Even in Antwerp (where we were getting an engagement ring remember) Rossa had a list of pubs and beers to check out. I’m not entirely complaining, but it was nice for things to be a little bit balanced.

We also visited Jilija’s which is just such a gorgeous shop. I gathered that most of the yarns are La Droguerie, but she did have some other brands. She also had buttons and fabrics. As always happens me I felt a little overwhelmed, but came away with a skien of chunky baby alpaca, one of kid mohiar and some pure wool.

The baby alpaca and kid mohair both became cowls. I saw this photo on Pinterest and knew I wanted to make something similar with my mohair. For my Genna cowl [ravelry link] I cast on 110 stitches using 8mm needles, knit four rounds of 1×1 ribbing, then a round of k2tog/yo and five rounds of stocking stitch. I kept going until I felt I was going to run out of yarn, then four more rounds of 1×1 ribbing. Only problem is that I cast off really tightly, even though I went up to 10mm needles for the cast off. But I think it’s still lovely.

Knitted Mohair Cowl

4 thoughts on “FO: Genna cowl

  1. I sympathise with the enforced beer drink/pub visiting on holidays, Belgium is especially dangerous! If you go back to Brussels check out the Fashion Museum just of the main square, it’s fantastic.

  2. What a gorgeous model in your FO pic! I hope you weren’t bankrupted by her fees. (It’s Mia, right, and not Ollie?!) Anyway I’m so jealous of the museum exhibit, it looks like it was amazing to visit.

Let me know what you think

