Project photography

So I love photography and I love knitting. On Saturday I had the opportunity to combine the two in a Project Photography workshop at my LYS This Is Knit. It was a good mix of the tecnical and practical. We spent the morning going through staging and lighting and then camera settings. I already had some understanding of ISO, aperture, shutter speed and white balance, but every time these concepts are explained to me I seem to grasp them a bit better.

After lunch we went to St. Stephen’s Green to put what we had learned into practice. The weather was conspiring against us, but we made the most of it, sheltering in the bandstand. This also made for some nice staging.

The first project I brought with me was the Hourglass Throw.  I used 14 balls of Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran that I had bought to knit a jumper with. I never made it past the neckline of the jumper so now it’s a blanket. This is a gift for an aunt. It was a lovely knit, and the pattern repeat was nearly just about long enough that I didn’t loose my mind.

I was worried that it would only stretch to a lap blanket, but when I blocked it it really grew. I’d say it grew by about 50%, the magic of blocking. I forgot to measure it pre-blocking, but post blocking it’s 100cm x 110cm. It’s 8 pattern repeats wide (166 stitches) by 7 pattern repeats long. I basically knit until I ran out of yarn.

The second project was a Clara dress that I knit for a friend’s daughter. I love the shape of skirt and the leaf detail at the neckline. It was a joy to knit.

I was a bit worried that the breeze would blow the dress into the pond but thankfully that didn’t happen. I’m really happy with these photos but I also know I can do better. I’m currently working on two baby cardigans (which are also gifts but are not purple) so I’ll have to play around with the camera a bit more when they’re done.

I often find myself photographing details and I like the pretty blurry backgrounds like in the photo below, so the two photographers running the workshop may or may not have persuaded me to buy a new lens that will help achieve that. It may or may not be winging itself to me right now, so I’ll post some photos when I’ve had a good play with it.

6 thoughts on “Project photography

  1. LOVE the purple yarn. I’m having a bit of a purple obsession at the minute. Looking forward to seeing the cardis your working on at the minute. You work is wonderful.

  2. Pingback: New outside studio « Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

