Meditating on Knitting

Knitting in the round with double pointed needles

This has been going round and round my head for the last while. Just what is it about knitting that I find so relaxing? You hear it all the time from knitters and non-knitters, how therapeutic it is, and I’m struggling to put my finger on the button of exactly why.

My brain has a way of running away with itself at times. Who’s doesn’t? But when I pick up the sticks and string everything else just melts away. R said to me recently as I was knitting away “does your head not flood with thoughts while knitting” or words to that effect. And you might think that would be the case. That the relative repetitiveness of the task would allow those pesky thoughts to attack.

However, the exact opposite is true for me. I find myself falling into an almost meditative state. One stitch at a time. Stick and string. Just one stitch at a time, watching a pattern emerge before my very eyes. Watching an object take shape in my hands, through my hands. Just one stitch at a time. No pressure to finish a whole project, or even a whole row. It’s just one stitch at a time.

I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Meditating on Knitting

  1. Knitting also puts me in some kind of a meditative state. Everything else vanishes. The click click of the needles and the feel of the yarn on my finger is like a lullaby to me. That’s why I got very picky when it comes to needles: some brands don’t produce the right sound and it half spoils my knitting experience. If is there such thing as knitting snob, I may have became one 🙂

  2. Pingback: What Type of Knitter Are You? | Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

