FO: A Tale of Two Cardies

Two of cousins had babies in May of this year, a boy and a girl. Cue much baby knitting. I had some lovely cotton that I bought at HandmAid last year, three balls of Rowan Handknit Cotton in a lovely soft green and three balls of Debbie Bliss Cotton DK in a gorgeous rich stone colour. I prefer to not to use pink for girls and blue for boys so these colours were perfect. I didn’t quite have enough of both colours so I decided to use Debbie Bliss Cotton DK in Navy as an accent colour.

These are my Hannah and Tiernan cardigans. The pattern is the Garter Yoke Baby Cardie by Jennifer Hoel. I adore this cardie because it’s quick and easy. It’s a top down seamless pattern so no sewing up. I used DK weight yarn and 4.5mm needles to give a bigger cardigan, and I’m delighted with the results.

I’m really confused though because I needed an extra ball of navy yarn with the stone cardie. I used about 4.5 balls in total for the stone cardigan and 3.5 for the green one. I know they’re two different yarns but wasn’t expecting such a difference as they turned out about the same size. I continue to learn something new with each project.

Ok, one last photo, I just HAVE to show you these gorgeous red car buttons that I bought in La Droguerie in Paris. I think they’re just about the dotiest thing I have ever seen. I’m almost sorry to give them away but they are going to a very special cousin, who I know will love them as much as I do.

Let me know what you think

