New outside studio

I’ve always loved brickwork. I know, what an odd thing to say. But the texture and the colour variation in exposed brickwork have always appealed to me. When I was doing the Project Photography workshop I started to think about our back wall. When we moved into our house it was pink. Yes, our back wall was pink and I swore it would be the first thing we changed. Well you can guess what happened – nothing, we never got around to painting it.

Outdoor studioSo when I suggested painting it white a few weeks ago R gladly obliged. And now I have a fabulous outdoor studio for photographing my knitting. It provides a clean, white background while still retaining some texture and interest. Whoop. So of course I got straight to work photographing my two latest project, a cowl for me and a cowl for R. We’re all set for winter in this house.

The first is my Seagreen cowl, the pattern is the Slushie Cowl from This Is Knit. I used two balls of Debbie Bliss Rialto in Aqua and about half a ball of Debbie Bliss Angel in Jade. I love the mixture of textures and colours in this cowl, I can’t wait to wear it. The texture is created with a simple but effective mixture of knit and purl rows and the contrasting texture of the two yarns. LOVE. IT. I blocked it when finished, but this flattened the texture a bit too much for my liking, so I’ve unblocked it, so to speak, since taking the photo above.

Next up is R’s April in Paris cowl. This was knit with yarn bought on our honeymoon in Paris, La Droguerie Baby Douceur. This is 100% baby alpaca and is DIVINE. Using the magic that is Ravelry Pattern Browser I searched for suitable cowl patterns based on yarn weight and yardage and R chose his favourite. This was knit with 10mm needles and knit up in about 3 days, the fastest I’ve ever finished a single project. Seriously, why don’t I always knit with 10mm needles? If you click through to the Ravelry project page above you can see a photo of R trying his hand at modelling.

What do you think of my new outdoor studio??

3 thoughts on “New outside studio

  1. It’s fabulous… there’s a definite advantage to having a background with a bit of texture, my apartment walls are way too boring to use!

    So, are you going to use it to shoot all your stash for your rav stash page now too? 😉

  2. Pingback: Christmas Cowls « Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

