Chunkylicious

Red wrap 011The real joy of Knitmas for me is that I got to put a package together for someone as well as receiving some fab gifts. I love the thrill of picking great presents for people, which is part of the reason I love Christmas so much. I drew Joanne who currently lives outside Ireland. Perfect, that meant I got to put together a really Irish gift for her.

Red_wrap_005First up I knitted the chunky wrap in the photo. The yarn is Garnstudio DROPS Andes and I used three balls and a couple of meters from a fourth ball to finish the cast off. I loved the pattern, it was really straightforward and with the chunky yarn it flew up. In the pattern you pick up and knit the tips separately so I used a provisional cast on to avoid seams. You then pick up and knit stitches along the edge of the ribbing and use short rows to create the curve. Very clever and effective. I hope Joanne will be nice and warm this winter.

I also included some Dublin Dye Company yarn I had in my stash, some handmade stitch markers, a shawl pin I picked up at the Knitting and Stitching show and some Lyons tea. I’ve lived abroad so I can appreciate how much little home comforts like tea are appreciated. I really hope Joanne liked her gift as much as I loved mine.

2 thoughts on “Chunkylicious

  1. Pingback: Christmas Cowls « Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

