What a year

The last few weeks have made me realised the power that the media and the general feeling of doom and gloom in the air can have on us (recession-this and cuts-that etc.). It would be very easy for me to look back on the last year and forget all the wonderful things that happened to me. In fact, until I really started to think about it I would have said the last year was pretty bad, because that’s what I keep hearing over and over again.

half a dream away-9403

Image Credit: Halfadreamaway.com

But 2012 has been an amazing year for me. First of all I married the love of my life last April. Married life so far has been pretty good, it feels very much the same as before, but also quite different too. It feels like we’re more of a team now, more secure – like being wrapped in a warm blanket, it’s us against the world. But day to day little changes.

Week 5 428The summer wasn’t so good, the weather was a bit crap and I had some crap going on with my job. But the extra time off meant I was able to foster some puppies which I blogged about. I fell hook, line and sinker for these two beauties, and while it took some time to find them the perfect forever homes, I was delighted that they had both found really great homes in time for Christmas. We’ve even fostered other puppies since but I’ve managed to guard my heart a bit better with those puppies.

Books 013And all the shit over the summer lead me to reassess my career and career options and in September I found myself back in a University lecture theatre. I’m currently studying for a Masters in Library and Information Studies and loving every minute of it. I feel like I’ve found myself all over again, and while I’ve been busier and more stressed than I had been for a long time I can also say that I’m the happiest I can remember.

IMG_7406

Image Credit: Halfadreamaway.com

So 2012, you were pretty epic. I have the most amazing family in my husband and our two furbabies, as well as my wider family and friends. I’ve got back into photography, have continues to improve my knitting and still enjoy volunteering with the DSPCA. It’s been a great year and now I’m excited to see what 2013 brings.

5 thoughts on “What a year

  1. Happy New Year Jenny, you’ve had a great year and it’s good to reflect and realise it’s not all doom and gloom as the media would have us believe. Much happiness in 2013! I’ll look forward to following your knitting ventures and good luck with the study – I found it very liberating when I did my PHN H.Dip. in UCC a decade ago, as it shows you what you’re capable of. Happy days!
    Catherine (Knitmas buddy!)

  2. Happy New Year, Jenny! I agree with you that the public story that we hear about how grim everything is doesn’t reflect the many small good things that are happening in people’s lives. Well done for saying it! I also love the Masters course. Let’s hope 2013 continues as well as our first semester and that we all finish in style. Audrey

Let me know what you think

