Yarn Confessions

Over on Twitter a conversation started about the size of our stashes. And bit by bit some of the knitters spread their stashes out to show them to us. So I decided to confront my stash and do the same. I’ve already blogged about my yarn storage solution, and my yarn still lives within it’s bounds, as well as much of my other crafty bits and pieces, so I’m happy with that.

Here we go:

Yarnconfessions 005I actually am quite impressed that it’s not as big as I thought it was. I have far roo much fingering weight at the moment (including five skeins of the most divine Coolree alpaca/silk/cashmere blend), so I have a feeling that’s what I’ll be working through for the next few months. I have a few sets of DK weight to do baby stuff and then I have 9 skeins of Mirasol Akapana to do a blanket for me. Other than that it’s all pretty random bits and pieces.

I keep it all in ziplock bags from Ikea, but took it out to photograph. The bags that you can see at the back are the ends of balls that I’ve kept that are leftover from other projects and these are sorted by weight. I’ll eventually work my way through these to knit mice for Pawsitive Knits.

Now lets see your yarn confessions.

*Some peeps are surprised at how small my stash is. And I was too. But then I love the process of picking a pattern and then choosing the yarn to match rather than the other way around.*

14 thoughts on “Yarn Confessions

  1. What a beautifully colourful stash, Jenny! I think ours might be fairly similar i.e. lots of the pretty one-offs and the odd quantity for a larger project.

    • Yup, I was actually surprised in a way that it’s so small. But all that fingering weight will take ages to get through. I feel lots of hats, mittens and small shawls coming on 😀

  2. I think it’s really fun to take a good look at our stashes from time to time. I have way more than you do but love each skein and will do my best to knit them all this year (do I dare say this out loud?). ; )

  3. You’re stash is rather small, I’m very impressed. Although I think I spot one or two things I encouraged you to buy at HandmAid, so I’ve done my best to increase it 🙂

  4. I think you are like most knitters – who buy yarn to match pattern. A few of us like to do it the other way round. Multiply your stash by about 10 and you get some feel for the size of mine. 😀 Do I have too much? No. It still fits into one unit, in one small part of a room. I love it all, and have plans for it all. I figure someone has to keep the yarn industry strong.

  5. Jenny my twin – I have BOXES of yarn 🙂 Acrylic for the afghans I know I will some day make. Fine Fibers for the gifts that will reveal themselves (mostly bought at Fiber shows and on sale) and then the odd bits that some how looked like I needed them (much like a lost puppy) in the store. It never ends. Yarns cakes fill everything in our home 🙂

Let me know what you think

