I Heart Cables

Knitting cable hatMore gift knitting. In tune with my aim to spend as little money this (last) Christmas as possible I decided to knit as many gifts as possible. Having consulted with some of the parents that I know on Twitter, I decided a hat would be ideal for my friend’s daughter.

Christmas gifts 010Looking through the patterns on Ravelry I decided that I wanted a hat with ear-flaps that could tie under the chin. I don’t have children but I can imagine they like to pull hats off. I found the I Heart Cables pattern and then found some aran weight yarn in my stash. Bingo!! I knit the infant size and I’m really pleased with the results. It was super quick and looks so cute. And both my friend and her daughter seem to like it too which is great!!

10 thoughts on “I Heart Cables

  1. It’s a beautiful toque, the cables are perfect… though sometimes knitting just is not so inexpensive! My goodness, some of the yarns I have bought made my wallet weep 🙂

    • I totally agree, knitting is not a cheap hobby, especially if like me you can’t resist the luxury fibres. But for my Christmas presents I used stash yarn, so at least it was money already spent. That’s my rationalisation and I’m sticking to it 😀

Let me know what you think

