And breathe

Semester 2 is now over and I feel like I can breathe again. Those last few weeks were really tough and I’ve now had my first few days off in months. I’ve actually finished a few projects recently that I haven’t blogged about yet. I was so busy working on assignments I couldn’t bear to keep working at the computer writing for my blog but I did have time for knitting in the evenings.

Blight 127In fact I gave myself a few hours dispensation every evening to relax and unwind before bed to help me sleep. So I’ve finished three shawls in the last few months, as well as my Colour Affection. I’ve been on a bit of a shawl buzz recently, but I’m not sure why. This is the most recent finished shawl. The photo below is courtesy of my hubby who was very patient and trekked around the park with me today trying to avoid the rain showers.

Blight 011The pattern is Blight by Deborah Frank and the yarn is Coolree Alpaca/Silk/Cashmere 4ply in the colourway Byzantium, which is a beautiful purple. I wanted a pattern that would be a bit of a challenge and when I spotted this one on Ravelry I was hooked. I enjoyed the pattern itself, although it took me a while to get used to the fact that only one half of the shawl was charted, as both sides are mirror images of each other. But once I got into it, that shawl has a lovely rhythm to it. I actually finished it surprisingly quickly.

Blight 145The yarn is delicious, so soft and smushy. The alpace, silk, cashmere blend is so soft and so lovely to work with. It has blocked quite well but I suspect it’s so soft I suspect it might need to be regularly blocked to keep the lace crisp. Summers in Ireland are never really summers so a light, delicate shawl like this one will be a great accessory to have.

Sunflower 002Oh, and I treated myself to something tasty as a reward for surviving the semester. More Coolree, I’ve become a bit obsessed with ochre recently. I don’t know what it’s going to be, I just really wanted to have it. The next project on my needles is a bag in grey with an ochre fabric lining. Lord knows how I’m going to actually line it but I’ll figure that out later.

5 thoughts on “And breathe

  1. Pingback: Sunshine on a Sunny Day | Crafty Tails

  2. Pingback: My 100th Post (and a giveaway)!!! | Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

