Sunshine on a Sunny Day

I was about to type we’ve been having some unseasonably warm weather. However, it’s exactly the weather you might expect for early June, except it’s been a few years since we’ve had such a good stretch of sunny weather. Or at least that’s how it feels.

Sunflower shawl 055As I mentioned in a previous post I treated myself to some Coolree Merino Silk fingering weight in Sienna Yellows. Sunflowers have always been one of my favourite flowers. I’m also slightly obsessed with chevron patterns at the moment. And, ochre yellow is my current favourite colour, so this Sunflower Shawl pattern felt like fate. I love the yarn, I love the colour and I love the pattern.

Sunflower shawl 037The pattern is really well written and lovely to knit. The designer gives instruction for lace weight, fingering weight and DK, in two different sizes. The pattern said I would need 550 yards of fingering, while I only had about 440 yards. But I felt I could skip a few pattern repeats and not run out of yarn. So I carefully measured my remaining yarn after each repeat.

Beginning 105g
A+B (1)=98g
A+B (2)=93g
A+B (3)=86g
C=77g
D (1-18) x1=60g
D (19-26)=52g
D (1-18) x2=30g
E=17g

Sunflower shawl 032I repeated chart B three times instead of four. When I realised I was going to have enough yarn to do the fourth repeat I was tempted to rip back and add in the fourth repeat, however as I was about to start chart E I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. So I would have had enough yarn despite the fact that the the pattern suggested I needed a lot more.

Ah well, I’m still so happy with the finished shawl. It’s perfect for this glorious weather and I hope when the clouds inevitably return it will be lovely to be able to inject a bit of sunshine into an outfit.

6 thoughts on “Sunshine on a Sunny Day

  1. Pingback: My 100th Post (and a giveaway)!!! | Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

