What Type of Knitter Are You?

Ashby 061I’m a monogamous knitter

I rarely have more than one project on the go at one time. I think that’s because I get so excited about my projects that I can’t bear to put them down until they are finished. I have a strong desire for everything in my life to be organised so I don’t think I could cope with multiple WIPs (work in progress, for my non-knitting readers).

The only time I have more than one WIP is if I find a project I’m so excited about I have to cast on *right now*, or if I need to whip up a baby gift.

Having said that I have one two projects sitting at the bottom of my knitting basket unfinished. I started to knit gloves last winter but put them down when it came to adding fingers and haven’t picked them back up again. And I have a bag waiting for a lining and assembly. And I don’t know how to line bags, so that’s my excuse.

Seagreen 001I am a process knitter

I knit for the sheer pleasure of knitting, and the FO (finished object) is almost a bonus. However, I feel like I’m shifting slightly towards being a product knitter and I’m finding it hard to give away my FOs and knitting more for myself. I have more shawls than I can wear, but am loathe to give any of them away.

Part of this is I feel that only people who really appreciate the love and time and effort that has gone into a knitted gift really deserve them. Not everyone gets it.

But for me knitting is a form of meditation. It allows me to switch off my brain and just concentrate on the rhythmic clicking of the needles.

Sunflower 002I am a yarn snob

There, I said it. I am a yarn snob. I love alpaca, cashmere, merino, silk. I love them all. And I don’t mind paying for them. I would rather spend €20 on a special skein from my LYS (local yarn shop) This Is Knit than spend €20 and get a jumper’s worth of acrylic yarn. I did try acrylic, but I won’t be doing that again.

I’m learning though. The more I knit, the more I understand the properties of different fibres. I love alpaca, I love how soft it is to wear, I love how soft it is to knit with. But it’s heavy, and it will stretch. I feel this is the same with all my favourite soft yarns. So I find myself drawn more to wools (sheep fibres). And silk, I love, love silk, knitting and wearing it. But there is no give in silk, so it’s hard to get much stretch out of it in the blocking process.

I will never stop loving and knitting alpaca and silk, but understanding their properties gives me a better idea of what the FO will turn out like, especially after a few wears.

So, what kind of knitter are you?

17 thoughts on “What Type of Knitter Are You?

  1. i’m a process knitter. I have any number of projects all over the place so I can just pick them up and work on them at any given time. All different things with different fibers. Once they are done they are gifted – I never really have much attachment to the things I make.

  2. I am a monogamous with a tad of processing. I enjoy complete one project at a time, but there are times where I get so stuck on a project that I leave it alone and move to the next project. Thanks for this post– never really thought about it.

    • You’re welcome! And it’s lovely to meet another monogamous knitter. Most of the knitters I know (online and in person) are bewildered by my one WIP.

  3. I don’t know what I am! I never have more than four projects in the works (usually), because I only have that many project bags to keep things together! I usually have a big thing (right now, a sweater that’s nearly finished), and several small things (a pair of baby overalls, an earband, the beginnings of a lace scarf). I’m a perfectionist knitter, I suppose, and I need a little variety in projects because I rip back so much to get the piece right–I can’t keep redoing what I’ve already done without getting bored. As you can see, this was thought-provoking for me…. 🙂

    • That’s really interesting. I hate ripping so I always ask the question “Can I live with this mistake?” before fixing 😉

  4. I don’t know how I’d describe myself as a knitter. I likes it. I always have a sock-in-progress in my handbag in case I get stuck anywhere. Oh, and I currently have about 32 WIPs. Including a sweater I started in 2006. Urm, help?

    • You may be beyond help at this stage 😉 Plus your WIP from ’06 is making me twitchy. I guess I’m too impatient for that.

  5. I am a knitting and crochet slut…always with lots of projects on the go at one time, then when I feel overwhelmed by the number of projects I start to finish them one by one…but I have usually decided on (and sometimes even started) a new project before I clear the WIP pile. I also usually have a few FO’s waiting to be blocked at any given time, and I do that on purpose so I can do 2 or 3 or 4 things all together on a lazy Sunday.
    I like to have a knitting and a crochet project on the go at the same time so that I keep up both.
    I very rarely keep anything for myself as usually my projects are started for someone else – I very rarely knit or crochet something without a recipient in mind. I agree so much with what you said about only giving your makes to someone who appreciates them. I have learnt this the hard way!
    I love the good stuff too (expensive yarn) – everything you make looks and feels so much better when your raw materials are good quality…and after spending all that time making something – I want it to look the best it possibly can. Alpaca/silk blend is my fav!

    • Mmmm, alpaca/silk. I agree good quality yarns are important, especially if you are a process knitter. I haven’t learned to crochet yet as I kind of feel like one obsession is enough for the moment 😉

  6. I’m getting more monogamous with my projects as time goes by. And I’m definitely a process knitter – to the extent that I finish things and they don’t get blocked, let alone worn. Must get better at that!

  7. Great post! I am a frustratingly bad knitter but love knitting and crocheting as I find it therapeutic and relaxing – even if I end up ripping it all! I have to say that I am with you on the yarn snob front …

  8. Pingback: Lamenting the loss of my knitting mojo | Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

