The Reek

I submitted my Capstone project (group thesis) the week before last. I’m proud of the work that we did and the paper that we produced, but some time off was badly needed. Myself and R headed West to visit some family and to enjoy some rest and relaxation.MayoAug13 011 (2)Of course I took my camera with me, although the weather in Mayo was predictably rainy and the light wasn’t always great. But when the sun comes out it is the most beautiful place on earth. And the sun obliged for the photo above looking out across Clew Bay towards Croagh Patrick. I think this one of the best photos I have ever taken. I’m very proud of it.

MayoAug13 040And then three donkeys appeared and began modelling in front of The Reek (that’s what the locals call it). They were so friendly and let us pet their lovely noses.

MayoAug13 050We headed up Croagh Patrick then to take some photos looking out across Clew Bay, and the sun came out for about 5 minutes before the rain started again so we didn’t get very far before we headed back down.

MayoAug13 056This photo was taken in Newport, Co. Mayo. Part of my heart lives here. Some day I would love to have a cottage somewhere in West Mayo. Although we only had sunshine about 25% of the time, it’s worth it for views like these.

Where is your favourite place? Where does your heart live?

3 thoughts on “The Reek

  1. My heart lives along the road from Westport to the Reek and beyond to Westport and at home in Castlebar. Beautiful photos of a beautiful place – making me homesick! Glad you had a good time on a well deserved break!

Let me know what you think

