A beautiful yarn bowl

This yarn bowl was hand turned by my father-in-law for my mum’s birthday. Isn’t it a thing of beauty?

Yarn bowl 004My father-in-law started wood turning, maybe 5 years ago. At some point after I started knitting I spotted some ceramic yarn bowls online and I asked if he could try to make one out of wood for me. He kindly obliged and I use my yarn bowl almost daily (when it’s not full of other balls of yarn and notions). I absolutely love my yarn bowl, my yarn doesn’t bounce all over the floor and when I’m finished knitting I can just pop the project into the bowl until it’s time to pick it up again.

Yarn bowl 022 Yarn bowl 021

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

With my mum’s birthday coming up I asked my father-in-law to make a yarn bowl for my mum. And he really surpassed himself this time. This bowl is a piece of art and I have to admit, as much as I love my own yarn bowl, I now have serious yarn bowl envy.

Yarn bowl 030The rest of this post is really just an excuse to share more photos of this exquisite bowl.

Yarn bowl 040

9 thoughts on “A beautiful yarn bowl

  1. Pingback: 10 Gifts for Knitter (curated by a knitter) | Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

