DIY Jewellery Display

I’ve been on a bit of a jewellery spending spree recently. I go through these phases of buying and wearing jewellery and then the phase just kind of fizzles out. I think part of the reason is that unless the necklaces or earrings or whatever are RIGHT IN FRONT OF ME in the morning, I’m too lazy/sleepy to find something to suit my outfit.

I browsed Etsy for some funky jewellery organisers that might helps solve this problem but decided in the end that I could make something just as nice myself as I could buy online. This pattern on Ravelry also served as inspiration.

And here is what I came up with. My earrings slot into the knitted lace nicely and my necklaces and bracelets hang from the hooks. This example is a little on the small size for me, but I intend on making a larger on soon.

Jewellery display 009I used:

  • A photo frame, with a pretty design
  • Some knitted lace, knitted and blocked to the internal size of the frame
  • A household stapler
  • A drill to drill pilot holes
  • Hooks bought in my local DIY shop (I think these are 25mm hooks)

If you want to make something similar, find a lace pattern that you like. I recommend one with a lot of yarn overs, as this makes it easier to slip your earrings into the lace. I used the ‘lattice 
lace’ section from the Dinner in the Eiffel Tower Shawl. I would also suggest choosing a neutral coloured yarn so that your earrings stand out on it and you can see your choices clearly. For my next one I’m going to use a pale grey or cream I think.

I used a household stapler to staple the knitted fabric into place, starting at one side, them the opposite side to get the tension even over the lace. You want the lace panel to turn out a bit smaller than the internal size of the frame, as this will give you nice tight lace. I just opened the stapler fully and pushed the staples into place. Whatever material this frame is made of was soft enough to do that. jewellery-display-0081-e1407495444707Then I decided to have five hooks for my necklaces, so I measured the base of the frame and marked where the hooks should go. I then drilled pilot holes into the frame to make it easier to get the hooks to screw in. And viola! My new jewellery organiser was finished.

Now I can see all my jewellery and can quickly pick something to wear in the morning before I head out the door. And it looks kinda pretty too.

2 thoughts on “DIY Jewellery Display

Let me know what you think

