Book review: Woolly Woofers by Debbie Bliss

I’m not in the habit of writing book reviews, but with this one I couldn’t resist. I nearly fainted when my local yarn shop, This Is Knit, tweeted a picture of the latest knitting book to hit their shelves. Woolly Woofers is a book of 22 patterns for dogs by Debbie Bliss. See? Fainting with excitement! Two of my favourite things – dogs and knitting!! When I contacted the publisher, Quadrille Publishing, to ask about using images in a review they kindly sent me a review copy.

I didn’t realise Debbie Bliss was such a dog lover. I love that it’s so obvious from the introduction that she is a true doggie-person. And I equally love that there is advice on knitting for dogs and examples of the different types of coats to suit different statures of dogs. And and this isn’t the first time Debbie has designed clothes for dogs. Last Christmas I knit the Santa Paws jumper for Mia from the Debbie Bliss Fall/Winter 2013 magazine. There is a Santa Paws jumper in this book too, but it looks like a slightly re-worked version. I haven’t knit any of the outfits from the book (yet), but Debbie is a prolific designer so I’m taking it as given that they are as well written as her other patterns.

Wooly Woofers 047Ollie and Mia have also been leafing through the book and choosing their favourite patterns.  Mia has chosen the Puppy Polo, she thinks it looks like a good basic jumper that every dog needs in their wardrobe.

Wooly Woofers 057Ollie has requested the Sherlock Bones outfit (complete with Deerstalker). As a rule he objects to wearing clothes, but he feels this outfit would lend him an air of sophistication. I normally wouldn’t go near a tweed yarn, but I’m willing to make an exception for this pattern and for Ollie.

Wooly Woofers 061And I really think I *need* Man’s Bee Friend in my life. Mia thinks it might be a good option for Hallowe’en this year. What do you think?

Wooly Woofers 075And I think the Parka Barker is going to be one of the first on my needles. Both Ollie and Mia barked with excitement when they saw this one, so I might have to make them one each to avoid arguments. I might even fork out the €16.95 for the Louisa Harding Luzia for the trim. It just looks so amazing.

When I was doing some digging around for information about the book before buying it, I came across this Telegraph article. At the bottom of the article you’ll find the Sherlock Bones, Mardi Gras Mutt and the Highland Hound patters for free. So you can try before you buy the book! And believe me, you need this book on your shelf.

3 thoughts on “Book review: Woolly Woofers by Debbie Bliss

    • There are lots of different models usedin the book, including a dachsund, as well as advice on how to adapt patterns for different body shapes.

  1. Pingback: A New Year Giveaway – Woolly Woofers by Debbie Bliss | Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

