Tiny knitted pumpkins

Anyone who follows me on Twitter will know that I’ve become a bit obsessed with these knitted pumpkins recently. I originally planned on knitting just one for my desk, but that was swiftly follow by a second, third, fourth fifth and sixth pumpkin. And I can’t say for certain that I’m finished. I’d love to knit one for my aunt, but I’ve run out of lighter weight orange yarn. The sixth pumpkin was for a colleague, so not included here.

Tiny knitted pumpkin in green, orange and white, knittingA friend of mine who knew I was knitting pumpkins sent me a photo last weekend of the pumpkin display in Fallon & Byrne, and immediately I knew I had to contact them to see if I could take some photos. So huge thanks to Fallon & Byrne who allowed the crazy knitting lady to take photos of her knitted pumpkins with their real pumpkins. I could happily have snapped away four hours and I’m so excited about the results.

Tiny knitted pumpkins in orange, green and white with a giant white pumpkin, knittingI bought the beautiful yarn for the orange pumpkins at HandmAid. I spotted it on the market stall and knew instantly that it was perfect, the colour is pretty much solid, but with some variation to give them impression of something more organic. It’s handspun yarn, spun by Eimear and is called Ashford silvers in orange. The skein was marked merino and silk, with 169m in the 50g.

Small, knitted, orange pumpkin with other gourds. knittingI had never knit with handspun before but I really enjoyed it. The first pumpkin was knit with the yarn held double on 2.5mm needles. The fabric was really tight so for the second pumpkin I switched to 3mm needles. For the third pumpkin I added a few extra even rounds to use up as much of the yarn as I could, so it’s slightly taller.

Small knitted green gourd with orange pumpkins #knittingThe green gourd was Hedgehog Fibres Sock in seaglass. This was knit, with yarn held double, on 3mm needles.

Small knitted white gourd with orange pumpkins #knittingThe white pumpkin was knit with Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in Paper, again held double, on 3mm needles.

Small knitted orange and white pumpkin with other gourds #knitting

For the stems I used my Embellish Knits iCord knitting yokey, and I used some brown and green lace weight yarn held together to get a bit of variation. I love these pumpkins so much, I know I’ll be taking them out every autumn for years to come.

The pattern is Spice & Clove Knit and Crochet Pumpkins by Hannah Maier and is much easier than I was expecting. You essentially knit and stuff a ball and then feed the yarn through the centre of the pumpkin to shape them. The only issue I had was that as some of my yarn was quite delicate they broke a few times as I really tugged the pumpkins into shape. I highly recommend you download this free pattern, but I warn you – it’s addictive.

17 thoughts on “Tiny knitted pumpkins

  1. Pingback: Talented Tuesday Link Party – No.2 | Threads & bobbins

  2. Pingback: Talented Tuesday Link Party No. 2

Let me know what you think

