Why am I blogging?

Am I having a crisis of blogging conscience? I’m not sure.

I’m not even sure where to start with this post – my thoughts are jumbled and conflicting. I’ve been blogging for *goes to check* three years now (holy crap!) I’ve updated the layout of my blog in the last year or so and in the last few months I’ve tried to publish content on a more regular basis. See? There I go, calling it ‘content’ instead of just the ‘stuff I write’. I’ve asked a friend of mine, who is a graphic designer, to help me with a new blog header and she has already showed me the most brilliant ideas. And I’ve started reading more about SEO, how to increase the number of comments I get and how to get my stats booming. I’ve become hung up on stats and clicks.

There I said it, my dirty little secret is out.

Part of me thinks, why shouldn’t I want my blog to be successful. I want people to read what I write – that’s the whole point. But when I find myself going back over old posts to tweak keywords, titles, image caption and links in order to create an ‘evergreen post’ (I know! Vomit!) have I gone to far? Or is this just promoting my blog a bit better?

And why am I promoting my blog? Yes, I want more people to read and engage with what I write but I don’t make any money from this blog, nor do I see myself doing that in the future. So why have I become so caught up with improving my stats and emulating the big, beautiful blogs out there?

When choosing topics to write about am I prioritising those that I feel will get more click rather than just writing about what’s in my head or on my needles that day? Is there a chance that I’m alienating other like-minded bloggers by trying to be too flashy?

And do you know what? I’m not even sure all this extra effort is even paying off in terms of hits.

Should I just go back to writing about what I love? (I’m still writing about what I love but in a much more considered way.) Why am I blogging? And what’s the point? I’m not sure that I know the answer.

Ok, brain dump over, let’s hope I don’t hit delete rather than publishing. I’d love to hear what you think in the comments (because the narcissist in me craves your attention and comments, aaaggggghhhhhhh).

16 thoughts on “Why am I blogging?

  1. Good to know other bloggers (Am I a blogger? I guess so) have similar thoughts! I must study up on SEO and such things, cause honestly I’m just flying by the seat of my pants with this blog thing, and since I *do* actually want to make money, that’s not good!!

    • Lol, at least you have a purpose Yvonne. I think I need to be clearer about mine in my head. There’s some really good advice on this blog (http://www.ukcraftblog.com/) scroll down a bit and you’ll see “Advice for writing and marketing a Craft Blog” on the right hand side.

  2. I’m completely the same. I’ve changed the style but been told it’s not colourful enough (which I’m trying to address). I need to get caught up with SEC more myself. I’m publishing my classes on my blog and trying to ‘develop’ a career from it…but it’s going so much slower than I’d really like. I have great plans just not enough time which is the biggest problem. I must admit my readership is slowly growing which a good positive…though I don’t get many comments…interaction with people is what I really want. I love reading ur blog…so keep going…don’t put pressure on yourself…write about things you love!

  3. I’m lucky in that I blog for 3 reasons:
    1) To keep Stew informed of what I’m up to craft-wise.
    2) To document my crafty adventures.
    3) To practise writing in a setting outside of science.
    So my purpose for blogging has nothing to do with my readership (except Stew). Although I do get a kick out of readership stats and especially comments!

  4. I find that joining some of the challenges is a great way to get more readers, there are lots of different ones on the go every week, at the moment Photography 101 and Blogging 101 are on for the month of November, worth a look, if you have the time.

  5. Thanx for this post. I ‘ve been blogging since 2006, and these last few years I’ve turned to Twitter. I’m trying to blog more frequently and I really need to make the effort to post comments on the blogs I follow. Starting with your blog: )

    • Thanks D. I do love blogging because I love writing but it requires more than just writing to make it successful and it’s easy to loose sight of why we’re blogging too.

  6. I don’t think it is narcissistic to want people to read your blog. I do think as blogger you should write what you love to write about and the people will come. I started blogging as a way to connect with people who had similar interests to mine. If I were to cater my posts to what I think other people would read, the posts may not be authentic to what I am about.
    I say really think about why you wanted to blog in the beginning and follow that path.

  7. Pingback: Why I blog | Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

