It’s Knitmas!!!

You may have noticed that I haven’t shared any finished projects recently. There are a few reasons for this. I do have a few finished things to share, but during the week I’m rarely home in the daylight to take photos of them. And since the weather has taken a decidedly wintery turn the weekends aren’t much better. So I have a shawl and a hat to show off but no photos of them.

I’m also working on a Cladonia by Kirsten Kapur with Dublin Dye Company Swing Sock in ‘Library’ that I’ve teamed with madelinetosh tosh merino light in ‘Paper’. These two colourways go so well together and I love that the names are ‘Library’ and ‘Paper’. This shawl was fate.

But another reason I haven’t shared any finished projects is that I’m taking part in Knitmas, which is a secret gift exchange. So although I’ve been knitting away I can’t tell you about it. Knitmas is the most wonderful time of year – when Irish crafters treat each other to handmade gifts. So often knitters, and other crafters, are the ones giving thoughtful, handmade gifts and less often are on the receiving end of these crafty presents. I really love this gift exchange and have participated for the last few years.

There are four rules to Knitmas. You have to include something handmade in your present, you have to liberate some of your stash, you have to include some kind of treat and finally a surprise. I can’t tell you how much effort goes into these packages by the participants , and each year they get bigger and better.

We use Elfster to decide who draws whom. Elfster also means that we can ask anonymous questions which adds to the excitement. And we can chat on Twitter so we’re all pretty much whipped into a frenzy. The deadline for posting is December 1st and shortly after that photos of gifts start appearing on Twitter. This is so much part of the fun because the recipient still doesn’t know who their elf is so the sleuthing begins.

I really hope my Elf likes the gift that I’ve chosen to knit her and I’ll be sure to share some photos when the parcel is safely received. If you want to read more about the Knitmas gift exchange you can read this post from the Elfster blog that was published last year.

5 thoughts on “It’s Knitmas!!!

    • Aggghhhh, I still have a tiny bit to go on mine and then I need to block too. It’ll be tight but worth it I hope. I have most of my other bits and pieces too, so it’s all good.

  1. Pingback: Bake Knit Sew blog tour winner | Crafty Tails

  2. Pingback: Lamenting the loss of my knitting mojo | Crafty Tails

Let me know what you think

