Finally an FO

According to Ravelry I started this shawl back in October! It was one of the projects on my list to finish after Christmas to help get my knitting mojo back. And I think it’s worked. It’s also helped that the days are getting longer so it’s easier to fit a few rows in on the bus in the morning and evenings.

LibraryShawl 008Anyway, back to my shawl. The pattern was the very popular Cladonia by Kirsten Kapur. I had wanted to knit this for quite a while and I really liked the result. I wanted to make a bigger shawl than the pattern suggested. I reached the required number of stitches with 52g of yarn left so I followed the advice of other knitters and kept going until I had 35 stitches between markers. This meant I used most of the yarn in my 100g skein, which I always feel is good value.

LibraryShawl 011The yarn I used was Dublin Dye Company Swing Sock in Library, which I pretty much bought because it was called Library and I’m a librarian. I’m a sucker, I know. It’s a lot more variegated than I would normally go for and while I like the result I think I’ll stick to semi-solids in future. However, I really like the Swing Sock base, the stitch definition is really crisp and the yarn is machine washable and very soft.

LibraryShawl 004For the border I used Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light in Paper. Library and paper, these yarns are a match made in heaven. I really like how the cream from the Paper helps pick up the cream from the Library. I did a picot bind-off (cast on 3, bind off 5) rather than the looped bind-off in the pattern. I love how a picot bind-off looks, but my god it takes ages. This ended up as a gift for a wonderful friend who hit a big birthday this February. A special shawl for a special lady. I hope she likes it.

 

3 thoughts on “Finally an FO

Let me know what you think

