Lovely lavender

I just realised that if I keep sharing everything I make for the wedding on my blog then there will be no surprises on the day. But I am so proud of how my knitted lavenders are looking I can’t resist. According to Wikipedia a boutonnière is a floral decoration worn by men, typically a single flower or bud. The word comes from the French word for buttonhole, which is the British term.

Knitted lavender boutonnière buttonhole

(c) Halfadreamaway.com

Before Christmas I was searching the Ravelry pattern database for Christmas decoration patterns. I don’t know what I clicked but the next thing I knew I was staring at these knitted lavender and a plan instantly formed in my head. The pattern is from 100 Flowers to Knit and Crochet by Lesley Stanfield.

Knitted lavender boutonniere button hole

I tried using a sport weight yarn but they came out too big for my liking. A sample in laceweight turned out much better. With help from the staff at my LYS This Is Knit I choose Rowan Fine Lace in Vintage and Malabrigo Lace in Olive.  R asked for something a bit extra for his so I added two lavenders in Fyberspates Scrumptious Lace in Oyster that I used for my shawl.

Knitted lavender boutonniere button holeI’m using 2mm dpns to knit the lavenders and for the stems I’m using garden wire wrapped in double sided tape and wrapped with the olive yarn. I’ve used some twine to tie them together. This twine is being used throughout the decorations for the wedding. I love the twine, the texture and the look of it. I know, how sad right?

I’m am spectacularly happy with how these are turning out so far. Here’s the Ravelry project page.

9 thoughts on “Lovely lavender

  1. Pingback: A Knitted Wedding « Crafty Tails

  2. Hi, I love how your lavender turned out! So, I just happened upon your page and was honestly wondering if you’d be willing to walk me through one of the steps in the pattern, since you’re turned out so well. I recently bought the book and have been trying to figure out the lavender pattern for hours, and can’t for the life of me get past the 5th row.. and I thought I was a fairly decent knitter..guess not. Any help you’d be willing to offer I’d appreciate it!

    • Hey, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. So K1, and cast on 3 using knitted cast on. These extra 3 stitches are on the left hand needle. Knit two and pass the first over the second to cast off one stitch. Knit one more stitch and pass the previous stitch over this again to cast off the second. Then knit one more stitch and pass the previous stitch over again to cast it off. Now you have 2 stitches on the righthand needle. This creates the little nub. Does that make sense? Let me know how you get on….

  3. Hey don’t suppose you would make these to order, we can not for the life of us make them they have come out so wrong, or any tips you can give would be great as these are amazing.

    • Hi Sam, I’m afraid I don’t make them to order, I’m just too busy at the moment. Sorry. Is there a specific part of the pattern you’re having trouble with? Maybe I could help with that?

  4. Pingback: Lovely Lavender » Vintage Bride Blog

Let me know what you think